ppl network

ppl network in edu today

That’s what I’ve been thinking about as I grow into the new teaching environment, wherein teachers are evaluated on any number criteria connected to student achievement. So how do I become a better teacher after 27 years of striving to do the best I can? How do I get even better?

I’ve connected with others who also reflect on their practice and improve their practice by teaching with tools of this century. I’ve developed a personal learning network by joining and participating in twitter, nings, professional networks. These have helped me bring the world into my classroom and allowed my students to cooperate and collaborate with other students, much of which I have reflected on in this blog.

The next phase is to reach out and participate in a community of practice, which I have begun to understand through the Connected Educator Book Club which brought be to the Powerful Learning Practice Community. Right now I’m connecting there through a Web 2.0 Tool Course to help me better establish my process of reflecting. I know my PLN will continue to guide me, and some of them will join me in this reflection of my practice, not for me, but for all of us who participate together to improve the practice of each of us, together. Through our blogs, through sharing our practice, through comments and discussions on these blogs, we each grow into better teaching strategies. An example is a recent post I wrote on the Common Core State Standards. One of my PLN, Tracy Watanabe, provided many resources in a comment on my reflection. I was able to share that in a LiveBinder for my colleagues at school and act on those resources in my own learning and practice.

So, as I think about how to improve, I have two areas on which I’d like to focus. One area is my Wordsmith Agora blog, a blog that promotes the teaching of writing through a guest post format. I need to contact those who blog already and those who share in Twitter and request their participation to share their best ideas for the teaching of writing. Second, I need to begin my journey of reflection by following the requests of my school district. We have accepted the Marzano Teacher Evaluation strategies and have begun study of “Being a Reflective Teacher.” That will inspire many posts in the future.

I’d like to thank Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach and Lani Ritter Hall as authors and facilitators of a book clubthat encouraged collaboration and deep discussions to inspire us to become “The Connected Educator: Learning and Leading in a Digital Age.

What has inspired your reflective teaching?

 

2 thoughts on “ppl network

  1. Hi Sheri,

    Another example of sharing ideas and practices is the Lino It with Questions & Answers about student engagement that was recently commented on by a few in our PLN. — It’s also an example of reflective thinking because after I asked my PLN to comment on these questions, I saw ways I could improve the questions when I gave them to my teachers during a face-to-face training.

    Kind regards,
    Tracy

Leave a Reply

