#sol15 Little Free Library

Slice15_Free_Library.001

Just out for a walk with my husband, enjoying the brisk air and warm sunshine, and listening to the songbirds chirp at the tops of the trees to claim their territory.

We rounded  the corner, yacking about how we hoped these walks would slim us down some, when we discovered this amazing, welcoming, magical box, a “Little Free Library,” up on the ledge along the public sidewalk. Just open the little door and add or take a book.

The sign on the front says:

The Little Free Library
Please take a book, or leave a book.
Remember to keep it family friendly, so the entire family can enjoy!

The quote on the side is from J. K. Rowling:

I don’t believe in the kind of magic in my books. But I do believe something very magical can happen when you read a good book     ~ J. K. Rowling

My husband says that our local Rotary club is considering placing these all around the area. Wouldn’t that be great?  Can’t you just see children stopping to read or taking a book — putting one back, making it a habit? Awesome. I love this, the little free library.

I think we’ll add one to our yard. I’ve got tons of books from when the grandkids were little, just sitting here on bookshelves, and we’ve got kids all over our neighborhood who could use a chance to discover a new world.

How will I build them?  The Internet is a wonderful place; here’s my answer: Little Free Library dot org, in the “builders” link.

There’s no excuse!  Spread the word! Let’s spread the Little Free Library around the world.

How about you?


Image Source

Just the Little Library from teach.eagle on Flickr

The Poster Image from teach.eagle on Flickr

solFor more slices, visit the gracious hosts at Two Writing Teachers to read other “slices.”


15 comments

  1. I have yet to see one of these in person, but I have been reading about them. What a great idea! I hope you are able to build one, then get it on the Little Library map.

    • Yup. It will be fun — we’ll choose a unique design. It may also be a “fairy” house, since all our grandkids have been told about the fairies that live in our yard. 🙂

  2. Cool idea. I wonder how much they are used. I love libraries, but sometimes parents cannot or will not bring their kids there so having a free small little library may be the answer.

  3. I LOVE Little Free Libraries!!!! I have yet to see one in person, but I have a whole pinterest board dedicated to some of the coolest ones from their page. I hope you find great success with it.

  4. The only time I have ever seen one of these is at a plant nursery in my hometown. I am always on the lookout though – I would love to taks advantage of this awesome trend. I wish you luck in starting your own Little Free Library, and I hope that you find some good books appear there!

    • Rachel, Thanks. And Erin gave me the idea of putting one at our school. Wouldn’t that be fun? Our students love the bookmobile that comes each month — this would be great to fill up weekly.

  5. I love Little Free Libraries! Last year one of the classes at my school designed, built, painted and filled a Little Free Library for the front of our school. I’ve loved seeing more and more pop up around town!

Leave a Reply

