#sol15 National Poetry Month part 2

Small-Blue-RGB-National-Poetry-Month-Logo

As I said, I love April.  National Poetry Month is an awesome way to teach the love of poetry.  My students love poetry — my favorite site is this one: ETTC Poetry from NJ; I hope it never goes away.  Kids love choosing a poem on the left and using the support questions to build a poem. Serious, fun, silly.  It’s worth a pop over there to try one yourself!

 I was fortunate to take a course from Georgia Heard, Awakening the Heart. My students have loved learning poetry through the strategies and activities from that course. Here’s my coursework and examples. 

 
What poetry resources have you to share?


solFor more slices, visit the gracious hosts atTwo Writing Teachers to read other “slices.”

 

10 comments

  1. Sheri, I just realized that I follow you on Twitter-small world. Thank you for the resources. If you would like to check out the galleries of artistic expressions that I have created, I think you will be pleased to see the various contributions from writers around the globe. If you start at the last gallery you will find links to previous ones. I am in the process of designing the Gallery of Winter Whisperings and the spring one should be announced soon. Feel free to offer an original poem and photo, combined through a digital tool and send it to me. I am also accepting student work.
    http://beyondliteracylink.blogspot.com/2014/12/finding-fall-gallery-is-here-with.html

  2. I look forward to April for this very reason. Everything turns to the joy of poetry. Thanks for the resources. Maybe we should start a Google community or a Twitter handle? Think about it.

    • That’s a great idea. I know there’s a hashtag #npm15 but we could certainly add to the fun, poetry, and conversation on Twitter and Google Plus. I wonder if there is a Plus community on poetry — especially for middle school? Let’s do think about it!

  3. I love teaching poetry, too, and I’m looking forward to beginning our poetry unit after spring break. I use poets.org, the Academy of American Poets. They have resources for teachers and a lovely free poster every year for Poetry Month.

Leave a Reply

