#clmooc #makeaninquiry Getting Started

dewey_doing

Michael Weller asks questions. He’s a reflective teacher in the best sense of the concept. In that questioning about his practice, as a connected learner, he has invited others to join in the journey to become better teachers, focused on improving one’s pedagogy. Michael is part of  the team at #clmooc, where the invitation began. I’m late to the inquiry party, whose hashtags are #clmooc and #makeaninquiry.

I have been thinking about it, and my musings are captured in Blendspace here.

Concerns

  • testing, testing, testing
  • students as persons, not numbers
  • lack of joy
  • students playing the game of school

Wishes

  • students are self-directed learners
  • students discover their talents, interests, and passions
  • my classroom helps them get to those places

Constraints

  • expectations of compliance to education mandates
  • testing, testing, testing, and more testing

Wonderings

My general question is:

How can I bring authenticity back to the learning environment so students are empowered to become self-directed learners?

Next Steps:

I need to check out the work of others in Make an Inquiry.  Michael has started these:

Suggestions?

deweysre

7 thoughts on “#clmooc #makeaninquiry Getting Started

  1. Thank you for the shout-out and your kind words. 🙂 Our inquiry questions are quite similar – it would be interesting to collaborate and/or compare notes on our efforts to create spaces for self-directed learning.

    • Thanks Michael. It’s a mindshift. What I hope to do is add more authenticity to our class environment. When I taught self-contained eighth grade, I used a studio/workshop approach. We had six mac computers [think jellybean], so I’d do mini-lessons in the early morning, and the rest of the day students rotated to work on computers, projects. small groups, conferencing. It was awesome, rigorous, and fun. I miss those days. So I want to bring that workshop/studio approach back with the learner in mind first, rather than the objectives. I want us to “do” and learn together on the work of readers and writers; the objectives will be met — just not every one at the same time or same way, or the same objectives. Collaboration would be awesome. Are you thinking of working through Youth Voices? I have middle school; You have high school students — perhaps mentors?

Leave a Reply

