SOL Sun Beams

Tired after work, I needed a walk. I walked with my head down, kicking at the dust as the shadows darkened beneath the fir trees lining the road. I sighed. Suddenly, the dust beneath my feet transformed into a yellow as bold as gold. I stood up straight, looking forward and up at the turn in the road where the beams of light thrown from the setting sun engulfed the forest, creating a haloed glow against the black of evening. A mourning dove cooed behind me. I hurried forward, hoping to find something special, something left by the sun. I jogged up into the light and found it: the hope of a better day in the setting sun and a smile to return home as I remembered its beauty.

sol

 


Writing Strategies

 

Description [sight]: the setting sun engulfed the forest, creating a haloed glow against the black of evening.

Description [sound]:  A mourning dove cooed behind me.

Details: Tired after work, I needed a walk. I walked with my head down, kicking at the dust

Emotions:  the hope of a better day in the setting sun and a smile to return home as I remembered its beauty
Image Source: https://pixabay.com/static/uploads/photo/2015/11/07/11/30/sunbeam-1031201_960_720.jpg

Leave a Reply

