Slice of Life #sol16 Elevation

FullSizeRender 111

Tuesday, the sun shone brightly on the hills around the school. The snow blanketing the highest points sparkled like diamonds while the brown of the lower elevations looked like a fur coat, keeping the earth warm on the brisk day while holding in the green of spring soon to burst from within.

The elevation around the school is 1841 feet above sea level, just enough to keep the snow caps shining and the temperature ten degrees colder than my home twenty miles away. Snow, rain, or shine– the drive to school is meditation, a nature journey to enjoy before the business and messiness of learning begins.

When I left home, the sun’s light on the clear blue sky seemed to say, “Welcome. This day is glorious. Don’t miss it.”

And I know the daffodils just off the front porch listened and lifted its buds higher:

IMG_7276

Our town’s elevation is 1145 feet above sea level.  That 700 feet makes such a difference. I didn’t feel I needed a jacket, and the johnny jump ups within the daffodils agreed. But knowing the drive up to school, I donned my winter coat because I knew the dust of snow and drop of temperature would greet me, but that the sunshine would elevate my spirits and that of my students. We wouldn’t miss this.

It would not matter that blades of frost would cover the sand-filled tires on the playground.

IMG_7279

The students would still bring the orange bounce in their lives and dance to the beat of it’s dribble on the court.

IMG_7280

Elevation makes a difference, but the sun makes a smile.  For me, it was a meditation from its brilliance, for my students, it was, “Play ball” even in its briskness.

What elevates your spirits, especially in the early spring?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Writing Strategies

Theme: Elevation in geography and in spirits

Consonance:

[s] Elevation makes a difference, but the sun makes a smile.

[l] listened and lifted

Dialogue:  Sun — the sun’s light on the clear blue sky seemed to say, “Welcome. This day is glorious. Don’t miss it.”

Description [sights]: he snow blanketing the highest points sparkled like diamonds while the brown of the lower elevations looked like a fur coat, keeping the earth warm on the brisk day while holding in the green of spring soon to burst from within.

4 comments

  1. Such poetry in your prose! The beauty of your day was conveyed in your images. I envisioned the furry landscape, soon to be covered in spring colors, and the warm-enough-to-skip-a-jacket of your lower elevation, in contrast to the chillier temps you would drive to, but that would not deter your students from playing. Thank you for this beautiful slice. I enjoyed being there!

  2. Ms. Edwards I really liked your story and I liked your photo’s I think you should take more photo’s and write more often, Did you do this as an example or to show us how to write better.

    • Hello Story, Thank you. I think photos really add to the topic and help your reader imagine the ideas. Yes, this is an example of writing; that’s why I wrote some of my strategies into the post. These are things we’ve talked about. I know you are using them too. Se you tomorrow at school.

Leave a Reply

