Everyone is Writing a Book

hargadon_bit

Ross Cooper wrote a post entitled, “Everyone is Writing a Book, or Everyone Has a Voice,” and I tried to write this comment [but was blocked as a bot]:

And I choose carefully the books that I read based on how it applies to me. I’m glad to have so many resources to help me think through and apply standards based grading — or no grading; quality formative assessment– and student self-assessment. This is important because no one magic bullet exists, so adding to my playlists and setting them to the melody of my classroom helps me write my own song.

So I’ve been thinking about the same thing– everyone I admire is writing a book, and what I say to myself is: I can do it too, and so can you!

Everybody is writing a book, because everybody has experiences and ideas that can help someone else. One little nugget in a book can set me on a new path of exploration for my teaching and learning, and I love that.

So your experience on a project, your example of professional development, or your strategies for student engagement— all of these and more could be a short book that just might help the movement towards more connected learners and more authentic learning closer to reality.

Besides, with all the information out there, as Steve Hargadon once said , “in order to cope, we must give a little bit of our own” [ITEC Keynote 10.18.11].

After years of innovating, modeling for others, and blogging, these authors are able to publish their experiences so we can all learn. The bloggers and authors are giving a “little bit of their own,” voicing their ideas, wonders, reflections, and successes, and I appreciate it.

Isn’t it wonderful that these opportunities are available to us- to hear the voice of others and add to our own– to read and to publish?

So, go forth, get reading and do your own writing.

PS: I am not a bot.


Image by mrsdkrebs

From Extend the Conversation

by Denise Krebs and Sheri Edwards

Connected Educator Month, 2012

Leave a Reply

