SOL17 DoodleaDay 8 Love

IMG_3722_doodleaday_dad8_love.JPG

I grew up Lutheran. I don’t know what that means today, but I know that I learned that Jesus Loves Me, and Jesus loves you, and we are to treat others as we want to be treated because God is love. And love means many things — it means love in the family– everyone in the family. It means love through caring and kindness in the classroom. It means love through friendship and reaching out to those who have no one. It means love through compassion to those hurt, hurtful, afraid, lost, angry, homeless, helpless. It means love of the earth to protect that which provides all that we need to live.

So I am so troubled by the lack of love in the world today, even in my country now where for some reason, immigrants and refugees fleeing devastation are no longer welcome, where the poor are seen with contempt, and where providing support for the unsupported somehow costs too much. I see no compassion in policies and in actions that strip the protections for the earth, the needy, the sick, the poor, the homeless. For sure, we were not perfect before — but we had the compassion to plan for those who may need help.

At one time in my life, I needed help. At one time in his life, my husband needed help. We needed help for food and doctors for our first, beginning families. Divorce does that, by the way– all those supposed laws against women now being forged by supposed Christians forget how often women must care for themselves and their children on their own. And there was help when I needed it. I am so thankful for that help, so I would never begrudge or feel contempt for those using the programs that help with health, food, shelter; I would not think of disbanding those programs thinking that those people need to “pull up their bootstraps” and find work. I know it’s not that easy, and unless you have lived in the lives of those looking for help, shame for judging their need.

But no matter what, I keep my values, and will do my part to bring them back, and the programs that help people when they need it.

How do you keep your faith, your values of love and compassion in these times?

Resources:

CDC ACES Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs)

Responding to ACES by CORELABERTEWA and a pdf summary

Immigrants and Refugees, see Larry Ferlazzo’s post.

Face Poverty

Brian Jensen on Poverty

Evicted by Matthew Desmond

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A half apple squished

up against the littered curb;

He paused and stooped down,

picked up the apple, brushed it,

walked away and bit.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Part of Slice of Life 2017 by The Two Writing Teachers

Part of DoodleaDay by Royan Lee— today:  Draw the concept of Love without using hearts or the color red

Doodling Song: My Own Two Hands sung by Jack Johnson, written by Ben Harper

Leave a Reply

