SOL17 DoodleaDay 27 Text


Kids text a lot. My granddaughter could text without looking. I don’t know how she does that.

I remember one of my “hunt and peck” students, put his hands in his lap and looked up at me. He said, “Ms Edwards, if I had a thumb keyboard I’d be a lot faster.” Then he gestured typing with a phone. So true. So funny.

The most difficult thing for my students was to capitalize the letter I. They could catch all other “txt” typing in their work, but that ‘i’ really bothered them.

We have a family chat for sharing. Sometimes, one of us will say, “selfie.” And then we add selfies to the chat. Very fun. Very fun now that every grandchild but one has an iOS device; makes sharing with the grandparents easy.

Which brings up the #doodleaday: my favorite txt. I don’t usually type LOL or OMG or any of those. I always have to look them up if I see them. But I love pressing a picture and sending a heart. It’s so fun to push a little love across the universe.

So, I have two songs today.

Elton John: Your Song

Because I say to my grandchildren, “How wonderful life is while you’re in the world.”

And Across the Universe, because it seems we are connected from wherever we are, across the universe.

Beatles: Across the Universe. Click to Listen.

https://soundcloud.com/acrosstheuniverseost/across-the-universe

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Part of Slice of Life 2017 by The Two Writing Teachers

Part of DoodleaDay by Royan Lee— today: What is your favorite ‘txt’

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To My Children an Grandchildren

Across the universe

Shines the light

From your smile

Across the universe

Flows the music

Of your song

Across the universe

Ripples the love

From your kindnesses

And the universe

Magnifies your sparkles as

How wonderful life is while you’re in the world.

 

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂  ❤ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

