DotDay ArtDay CLmooc

37002025582_5e5915a228_o

September 15th is International Dot Day. It’s a day to join others around the world to “Make a mark and see where it takes you.” It’s day to discuss how we can “Make a mark, and make it matter.” It’s a day to consider and plan for how our words and actions have a ripple effect on the world.

How could we do this?  First, watch this animated video of Peter Reynold’s book The Dot: 

Then check out the ideas at International Dot Day.  Grab a few people or your classroom and create something: Make a Mark. Make a mark that tells about you, your connections to others, your way to better the world.

Several of my friends at #CLmooc mentioned we should make and share for #dotday. We often participate in the #ds106dc Daily Create, and this would be a great connection to our ideas on Connected Learning: open, networked, peer-supported, interest-powered, production-centered, academically-oriented.

My goal: share my “dots” to encourage diversity, unity, acceptance, community.

I saw a Dot Day image of watercolor resist, and remembered my “crayon resist” projects form years ago. I found directions to review: “Watercolor Painting Technique: Using Wax to Preserve White.

I gathered my supplies and a sheet of paper to plan. I wrote a poem and figured out where I wanted the “white” dots to resist the watercolor.

36776248900_60361a84cf_o.jpg

Then, with my sketchbook paper [planning paper underneath], I colored in the white circle dots with my wax crayons. I colored them thick, just to be sure it would work. You can see a white circle in the “a” of alone, which is why I wanted to plan first.

With just the white circles for dots colored onto my sketch paper, I then applied rows of water color. I tried two different brushes, and the foam brush worked great. I chose to start with dark blue for space and work to lighter blues and finally to the green of a living earth. It worked OK because the color did stick a little, and I didn’t want just “white” circles. I used a Kleenex to twist off some of the paint in the circles I had created. I let the paper dry.

Next, I used a scraper to lightly push across the circles to take off some of the paint and crayon [remember, I colored thickly!] I used my colored pencils to color in the circles in different colors to look like worlds.

37002058802_d0e9f59c9b_o.jpg

Next I carefully drew each of my letters as in my plan, using multiple colors to represent the diversity of color in the world.

Then I drew lines out from the circles towards other circles to indicate the “stretching outward — to commune.” I wanted to show that each of us are alone, beings unique in looks, ideas, feelings, beliefs. Yet we need each other, we reach out to build communities, and here the communities were diverse and accepting to make the world a peaceful place for all.

All the while, my cat slept beneath my chair.
36359651683_d1f567399d_o
She’s fourteen years old, and our connections and acceptance also include our creatures.

It was a fun project for a Monday afternoon while preparing for the awesome and important Dot Day!

Now, what’s your mark? Where’s your dot?

Photos may be found in my ArtEd album on Flickr

5 comments

  1. Love it all … I am doing a Circle Writing (writing a story about a round object with text in a circle) with my students, using the Visual Poetry site and a Padlet to collect the stories …

Leave a Reply

